Egbema Kingdom Suspends 8 Chiefs, Passes Vote of Confidence On Regency Council

By Sunday Apah

The people of Egbema kingdom in Warri North and Ovia South West Local Government Areas of Delta and Edo State respectively, have suspended eight traditional chiefs over their purported involvement in the installation of one Napoleon Egin Esq. as Agadagba-elect.

The suspended chiefs; David Bubor, Joseph P. Owilly, Simeon Igbedikuru, Daniel K. Agagha, William Igbiriki, Lucky Tiemo, Ebiegberi Fidisegha, Ebi Eyenmin and others were relieved of their positions in the Egbema traditional council.

The kingdom also passed a vote of confidence on the Regency Council to continue to pilot the affairs of the kingdom until a new king is coronated.

In an enlarge meeting of Egbema Kingdom, which comprise of the Regency Council, Traditional Council, Youths, Women and others, held at Ajakurama, the traditional headquarters of the Kingdom, appointed Chief Tax Agbaibor and High Chief Cyrus Olopele, as Acting Chairman and Secretary of Egbema Traditional Council respectively.

High Chief Cyrus Olopele who briefed newsmen on the outcome of the meeting, called on the Chairman of Warri North Local Government Council, Hon. Smart Yomi Asekutu not to accept any name from the suspended chiefs as Agadagba-elect of Egbema Kingdom.

As the kingdom had resolved that the process for the selection of Agadagba-elect is in progress and would be concluded in no distance time.

According to him, “the process for the selection of new Agadagba elect is spiritual and cannot be done in one man’s parlour outside Ajakurama, the ancestral home of the Egbema people”.

Olopele revealed to newsmen that Egbema Kingdom, in strong terms condemed the act and described it as a sacrilege.

The kingdom warned Napoleon Egin Esq. to stop parading himself as Agadagba-elect of Egbema Kingdom, reiterating that the process for the selection is still in progress and someone would soon be unveiled.

Top among those who attended the meeting included Chief Johnbull Adaun, Chairman, Regency Council; Chief Godwin Omornokentu, Chief Sule Akpasibowei, Chief Andrew Goroh, Chief Moses Donyabi, High Chief Cyrus Olopele, Chief Tax Tax Agbaibor, Chief Pastor Tilikiwei, Chief Abednigo Ukori, Mr. Maxwell Agagha, Chief Portharcourt Ukolor, Chief J. K. Wowei, Hon. Joel Bisina, Ambassador Jude Ukori, Gen. Aroni Oputu, Gen. Ezekiel Akpasibowei, Chief Efo Sole, Chief Timi, Chief Stanley Wowei, Chief Pilot Ekpe, Chief Morrison Abisoko, Hon. Major Atigbi, Chief Okoro Woemi, Chief Wowo Angache, Rev. R. O. Maya, Chief Bainizene Powei, Comrade Mumbor Tari, High Chief Eda Anthony.

Others Chief Israel Agedeha, Gen. Augustine Aboh, King Producer Mubi, Hon. Sunny Abilo, Fred Jero, Mieyefa Apataimini, Hon. Bigha Ebenezer, Worwei Laye, Hon. Bigha Grikpa, Pastor O. R, Owei, Newyear Abeneje, Polo Oweifa, Osaine Tare Felix, Godspower Lelekumor, Moses Kaka, Mr. Akin German, John Bigha, Friday Lenagbo, Saka Peter, Ambassador Egbor Bojor Emomotimi, Gowin Lelekumor, Hon. Barry Apataimini, Siko Eyerimi, Ajagidi Jacob, Hon. Marshal Ekpe, Isaiah Esite, Sanjumi Matthew, Mr. Christmas Ukugha, Hon. Dio Tanga, Chief Godwin Ukori, Hon. Benedict Miyebi and many others too numerous to mention.

Leave a Reply