Delta 2023: DC-23 Swears In 13-Man Committee To Prune Down Number of Urhobo Aspirants *Committee To Submit Report In Six Weeks

By Sunday Apah

In its desire to ensure that Delta Central District produce the next governor of Delta state, the Delta Central 2023 (DC-23) lobby group has setup a 13-Man Committee to prune down the number of aspirants justling for the governorship seat from the district.

The 13-Man Committee included Prof. Nyerhovwo Tonukari, as Chairman, Prof. Sunny Awhefeada, Secretary, Arthur Akpowowo Esq., Assistant Secretary, while Dr. Godfrey Enita, Edewor Omonemu Esq., Andy Osawota Esq., Anthony Akpomiemie Esq.,Very Revd. Fr. Christopher Ekabor, Dcn. Raymond Edijala, Hon. Felix Anirah, Dr. Mrs. Augustina Erah, Mrs Rarute Mgbeke and Mrs Florence Jakpovi are members.

National Chairman of DC-23, Senator Chief Ighoyota Amori in his speech during the swearing in of the committee on Monday at Asaba said the committee was setup because several sons from Delta Central Senatorial District have expressed their interest to contest for the governorship seat of the state.

He explained that DC-23 was conscious of the challenges ahead, particularly from some quarters who believed that our numerous aspirants will count against us should we go into the primary with area with few aspirants, hence DC-23 decided to do the needful by setting up the committee.

According to him, “the Committee will carefully examine all the aspirants from Central which included Chief Abel Esievo, Olorogun Kenneth Gbagi, Olorogun David Edevbie, Chief Ejaife Odebala, Chief James Augoye, Senator Emmanuel Aguariavwodo, Chief Kenneth Okpara, Chief Fred Majemite, Hon. Efe Ofobruku, Chief Bright Edejegwhro, Rt. Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, Rt. Hon. Festus Ovie Agas, Evang. Akpo Ofomona and Peter Mrakpor Esq. with a view of pruning them down to five at the first time, later three and finally one before the primary election.

“The terms of reference of the Committee is to identify the above aspirants and others that may express interest within the period of screening; look at the PDP guideline and the Nigeria constitution for qualification of the person for the office of the governor of the state.

“Interact with such aspirant(s) and carefully examine each of them if he has what it takes to be governor of a state; draw, set, develop their own criteria, strategy, modus operandi in carrying out the committee work; shall hear, take evidence directly or indirectly from aspirants and other sources (stakeholders) within and outside Delta Central for the purpose of evaluating each and every one of them.

“Areas to evaluate shall include medical fitness, financial capability, suitability, capability, acceptability and others by the generality of Deltans”, he added.

Amori pointed out that the committee can take other recommendations based on evidence gathered from all over the state and country for the interest of the people of Delta Central and Delta State with equity, fairness and justice as the guiding principle.

He stated further that the committee has six weeks to submit her report and can make further recommendation on the criteria to be adopted to reduce the aspirants from five to three and finally to one before the primary election.

Chairman of the committee, Prof. Nyerhovwo Tonukari who spoke on behalf of the members, thanked leaders and members of the DC-23 for the honour, and promised to do a good job that will bring about victory for Delta Central Senatorial District come 2023.

Present during the swearing in included Chief Senator Ighoyota Amori, National Chairman, Olorogun Solomon Ighrakpata, Deputy National Chairman, Olorogun Bernard Edewor, Deputy Chairman, BoT, Chief Suru Salami, 2nd Vice National Chairman, Rt. Hon. Sunday Apah, National Assistant Publicity Secretary, Chief Christian Onogba, National Assistant Organizing Secretary, Hon. Ejaife Odebala, Olorogun Dr. Isaac Akpoveta, Engr. Emmanuel Francis Ishaka, Chief Moses Orhokpor, Engr. Eric Osiobe, Chief Solomon Oturu, Chief Bestman Itive, Chief Abraham Ojighoro, Mr. Godfrey Etabuko, Mr. Francis Onogbo, Mr. Christopher Ophori, Mr. James Otuburu, Chief Joe Unuame, Ms. Oma Jennifer Anderson and Ms. Noreen Ughojor

Leave a Reply